The Funk Syndicate

Home / The Funk Syndicate

The Funk Syndicate

The Funk Syndicate are an energetic dance/groove band dedicated to bringing the FUNK back to the good people of Sydney, providing audiences with a chance to step back in time to where the fashion was ‘Outta-sight , the hairstyles,  and audiences could seriously get down to a live band where they could ‘dance like no one was watching’. Think ‘Soul Train’ if you’ve ever seen it. The Funk Syndicate is making that a reality again, creating not only an experience of the music of the 1970’s but a chance where an audience can come along and dance, get dressed up and be immersed in the Funk/Soul style.

Seeing these guys do it live – the wide collars, crazy sunglasses, the hats, platform shoes, flares, over the top bling, the whole ‘1970’s old school funky dance band – just before disco really took over .

It was refreshing to witness and the crowd at the show I saw responded really well. These guys are doing something different from most dance bands in Sydney which is great to see, staying true to their funky vision, and showing audiences a more authentic good time out.

You can tell these guys are not just going through the motions – they love what they are doing and they are doing it in their own way; their ‘mash-up’ of Brickhouse and Seven Nation Army was inspired.

This 5 piece group are clearly influenced by the legacy of the Legends of Funk (James Brown, The Sugar Hill Band, Parliament Funkadelic, Sly and The Family Stone, Stevie Wonder, The Temptations, Bill Withers, The Funky Meters, The Ohio Players, Average White Band) as well as modern funkateers such as Jamiroquai, The Roots (Jimmy Fallon’s house band), Maroon 5, Jason Mraz… the list goes on and on.    

With Dr Ricardo Funkenstein on Lead Guitar,

Shoeless Young Nicholas on Lead Vocals,

The Ever Effervescent Lem Z on Lead Vocals and Keys,

Alex the Unstoppable Dance Machine on Drums,


Han Bolo the Space Cowboy on Bass…”

Dr Emmett Brown

Back To The Future

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.